If you logged into Facebook last night or early this morning, you probably noticed a message regarding Facebook's Privacy Changes. Upon receiving the notice, you're asked to use a "transition tool" to review and make changes to your privacy settings.
By making a change with this tool, you could end up sharing personal information with a wider range of people than you had intended or had set up before. The new option can be tricky. Some experts believe that Facebook is pushing users in the direction of revealing more information, rather than offering more privacy, as the notice insinuates. Therefore, it may be best to stick to your old settings.
If you see the term "Everyone", be aware that you won't just be sharing your information with all Facebook users, but the general public too. In October Facebook signed a deal with Bing, that would allow public status updates to be available in the search engine's results page. If you're not careful, a lot more people than just your Facebook network will read your rants about how much you hate your job!
How do you feel about Facebook's privacy changes? Are you afraid that it actually means your privacy could be violated? Will you be more cautious about status updates and photos you post?