Last week I saw a ping on a friends page that concerned me, so I e-mailed Gather support about it. I took a Gather break yesterday. I have been very stressed out lately (hence the reason I have not been commenting alot). Today I found the same message with a different Gather name attached to it. So far these have come from nazia khan (naziakhan.gather.com) and alen lora (alenlora.gather.com). I am 99% sure this is a spam/phishing site. Here is my e-mail to Gather support:
Hi,
I got one of these on a ping today:
nazia khan, Oct 20, 2008, 5:48AM EDT
Hello!
This exclusive stock market newsletter can help you earn average 500% return every single year trading stocks.
Go and register yourself for 56 days free trial before they make it paid.
ThePowerStocks.com
It is from naziakhan.gather.com and leads to the page http://thepowerstocks.com/ which looks kind of phishy. I didn't check it out with samspade.org or any other sites like that though. Is this within the parameters of Gather TOS?
Chana
--- original message ---
From: Chana M.(discombobulated)
Subject: Question about TOS rules
Sent: Oct 18, 2008 11:40 AM EDT
Hi,
I saw this ping on a friends page:
Hello!
This exclusive stock market newsletter can help you earn average 500% return every single year trading stocks.
Go and register yourself for 56 days free trial before they make it paid.
ThePowerStocks.com
It is from alenlora.gather.com and leads to the page http://www.thepowerstocks.com/ which looks kind of phishy. I didn't check it out with samspade.org or any other sites like that though. Is this within the parameters of Gather TOS?
I looked it up on http://samspade.org/ and this is what I got:
http://www.thepowerstocks.com/ = [ 208.109.78.133 ]
Registrant: Domains by Proxy Inc.
Registered through: GoDaddy.com Inc. http://www.godaddy.com/
Domain Name: THEPOWERSTOCKS.COM
Domain servers in listed order: NS39.DOMAINCONTROL.COM NS40.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
See Business Registration Listing
Copy and paste the link below to view additional details:
(Asked whois.crsnic.net:43 about =thepowerstocks.com) (show)
Whois Server Version 2.0 Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net/ for detailed information.
Domain Name: THEPOWERSTOCKS.COM
Registrar: GODADDY.COM INC.
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com/
Name Server: NS39.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Name Server: NS40.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 27-sep-2008
Creation Date: 26-sep-2007
Expiration Date: 26-sep-2009
>>> Last update of whois database: Mon 20 Oct 2008 11: 42: 21 EDT <<<
NOTICE: The expiration date displayed in this record is the date the registrar's sponsorship of the domain name registration in the registry is currently set to expire. This date does not necessarily reflect the expiration date of the domain name registrant's agreement with the sponsoring registrar. Users may consult the sponsoring registrar's Whois database to view the registrar's reported date of expiration for this registration. TERMS OF USE: You are not authorized to access or query our Whois database through the use of electronic processes that are high-volume and automated except as reasonably necessary to register domain names or modify existing registrations; the Data in VeriSign Global Registry Services' ("VeriSign") Whois database is provided by VeriSign for information purposes only and to assist persons in obtaining information about or related to a domain name registration record. VeriSign does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a Whois query you agree to abide by the following terms of use: You agree that you may use this Data only for lawful purposes and that under no circumstances will you use this Data to: (1) allow enable or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail telephone or facsimile; or (2) enable high volume automated electronic processes that apply to VeriSign (or its computer systems). The compilation repackaging dissemination or other use of this Data is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of VeriSign. You agree not to use electronic processes that are automated and high-volume to access or query the Whois database except as reasonably necessary to register domain names or modify existing registrations. VeriSign reserves the right to restrict your access to the Whois database in its sole discretion to ensure operational stability. VeriSign may restrict or terminate your access to the Whois database for failure to abide by these terms of use. VeriSign reserves the right to modify these terms at any time. The Registry database contains ONLY .COM .NET .EDU domains and
Notice there is no contact information here. I would suggest people be very careful if you receive these pings. Also if you get them report them to Gather support
Notice there is no contact information here. I would suggest if you get them report them to Gather support. That is the only way Gather can know about these accounts and get rid of them.
| Hi Chana, Thanks for submitting this post to the Help.gather.com group. We have closed a few accounts and blocked IPs of the people who were leaving ping spams last week and over the weekend. It is very annoying to see a spam message in your pings. I recommend setting them to need approval. MaryAnne Flynn, Oct 20, 2008, 12:43pm EDT |


Comments: 49
Thanks so much for checking into it!
Thanks for submitting this post to the Help.gather.com group. We have closed a few accounts and blocked IPs of the people who were leaving ping spams last week and over the weekend. It is very annoying to see a spam message in your pings. I recommend setting them to need approval.
thanks for looking out for us
and thank YOU for headsup~j
http://friendsofdanh.gather.com.
Our goal is to help you further your exposure and to support other gather members.
Here's a 10 for you & thanks for posting at Up All Nite Café.
I hope things look up, and the rest of the week is less stressful. Heres a hug to start the rest of the week :) Hope it helps.
Thanks For Letting me know. :)
I hope you feel better soon.
This comment is to let you know that this content has reached at least ten comments, and as such has been removed from Comment Speedway! Congratulations!