We love getting feedback about your Gather experience. In fact, some great ideas for site enhancement have come from Gather members. If you have a suggestion, send it to Gather Member Support. We're listening.
About comments on Gather
Interested in starting or joining a conversation? Comments are a great way to contribute to the Gather community and build
your network of friends. Every comment includes a link to the commenter's profile, so others will see you and check out your
stuff. Type a comment in the main comment box or click "reply to this comment" to respond to a comment, then click "Submit."
Careful: you won't be able to edit it once it is posted. And always remember to respect others with whatever you have to say.
Finding comments I've made
Comments you've made will appear in My Activities (on your profile), on the My
Comments page linked off your profile page, and in the My Friends Feed that your Gather friends see.
Finding comments others have made
You can find comments another member has made by clicking Comments on his or her profile.
Comments posted by your friends also appear in the My Friends Feed on your My Gather page.
Replying to a comment
You can reply directly to content comments left by other members. Just click "reply to this comment" under a comment on the post,
photo, or video you're viewing and type your own comment in the window. You can only reply to comments that are active; if the comment
writer deleted the original comment, you'll see a placeholder and previous replies, but you can't add a reply.
Deleting a comment I've made
Click "delete" immediately next to your comment.
Nothing will be shown on the post, photo,
or video for comments deleted by the comment writer, and these comments won't be visible anywhere on Gather.
Removing others' comments from my content
After a comment has been posted, the content owner can remove it, but this can't be reversed. If the comment has replies,
all its replies will also be removed. A note on the content will show how many comments have been removed, and the removed
comments will still appear on the comment writers' comments pages.
Editing a comment
Comment editing is not available at this time. It's a good idea
to reread your comments before posting.
Placing links or formatting in comments
You can easily link, bold, underline, and italicize words in your comments. Simply enter and highlight the text you want to be linked,
made bold, underlined, or italicized in the comment box. Click the link or formatting icon that you want to use. If you are inserting a
link, you'll need to enter the URL the text should link to and save your changes. Before you submit your comment, you'll now see the
HTML tags around your text. Once you submit your comment, any links or formatting that you entered will become active.
Share Gather comments on other networks
Gather allows you to share you comments on Facebook and Twitter. To turn on this functionality, just check the "Share on Gather"
or "Share on Twitter" checkbox on any comment box. The first time you share comments or content to Facebook or Twitter, you will
have to go through a number of simple steps to enable sharing on either network. After the initial set up, you can share to Facebook
or Twitter by simply checking the checkboxes in the comment or content you are sharing. Note that you can't share Gather comments to
Facebook or Twitter if the content is not public, if it is intended for mature audiences, or if the author moderates comments for that
post, photo, or video.
Placing photos or links in comments
Some HTML may work in comments, but HTML as a rule is not
currently supported in the comments section.
Commenting permissions on my content
Each time you share a post, photo, or video, you can choose
which Gather members can comment on it. Either all site members can comment,
only your friends can, or no one is allowed to comment on your content,
Approving comments made on my content before they appear
By default, any Gather member can comment on your content. But you can restrict
commenting to Gather members who you're friends with, or turn off the comment
option entirely by unselecting the "allow comments" checkbox. You can
also choose to approve all comments before they appear; if you do, you'll be
notified when new comments require review and will see an task alert in your Gather site navigation. You can edit these options at any
time. If you have any comments pending approval when you make changes to these
settings, you'll still need to approve them before they appear.
I don't see my comment on a post, photo, or video
There are a couple of reasons why your comment might not be showing up. If a
content owner has chosen to review comments before they appear, your comment
can't be seen by others until it has been approved. Your comment status can be
reviewed at any time on your My Comments page. Another
possibility is that your comment has been declined or removed by the content owner. Removed
comments will remain visible for others to see, based on the content-viewing
permissions, only in your My Comments page.
I can't comment on a post, photo, or video
If you're unable to post a comment, either you must be connected
to this Gather member to post a comment, or the member has disallowed comments.
The content display page will indicate if any restrictions have been set.
Comment statuses on My Comments page
Depending on the permissions members have placed on their content, your
comments can be: (a) in review, (b) declined, or (c) removed. "In
review" comments need the content author's approval. "Declined"
comments have been refused by the content author and won't become public (but
will still remain on your My Comments page under My Gather).
"Removed" comments were once posted for others to see, but have been
removed by the content owner. (These are still visible to others on your
My Comments page and under "comments by me" in the
Comments menu based on the content-viewing permissions). Approved comments are
live and visible to everyone.
Comments removed by a content owner
If your comment has been removed, you won't receive a
notification. And if someone has removed your comment, this action can't be
reversed. This comment will remain visible for others to see, based on the
content-viewing permissions, only on your My Comments page.
indicating how many comments have been removed by the content owner will
display on the content display page. Removed comments will remain visible for
others to see, based on the content-viewing permissions, only in the comment
writer's My Comments page.
Comment restriction rules
If you restrict or disable your commenting options, your content
may not be viewable on the most popular lists and might not be
eligible for some Gather-sponsored contests. Remember: you can remove unwanted
comments from your post at any time. Gather encourages all members to allow
open discussion and debate on their content.